Skip to main content

Interstate Commissioner for Audlt Offender Supervision (ICAOS) Logo


Section 1. Commissioners

The Commission Membership shall be comprised as provided by the Compact. Each Compacting State shall have and be limited to one Member. A Member shall be the Commissioner of the Compacting State. Each Compacting State shall forward the name of its Commissioner to the Commission chairperson. The Commission chairperson shall promptly advise the Governor and State Council for Interstate Adult Supervision of the Compacting State of the need to appoint a new Commissioner upon the expiration of a designated term or the occurrence of mid-term vacancies.

Section 2. Ex-Officio Members

The Commission membership shall also include but are not limited to individuals who are not commissioners and who shall not have a vote, but who are members of interested organizations. Such non-commissioner members must include a representative of the National Governors Association, the National Conference of State Legislatures, the Conference of Chief Justices, the National Association of Attorneys General and the National Organization for Victim Assistance. In addition, representatives of the National Institute of Corrections, the American Probation and Parole Association, Association of Paroling Authorities International, the Interstate Commission for Juveniles, the Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, the Conference of State Court Administrators, the National Sheriff’s Association, the American Jail Association, the National Association of Police Organizations, the National Association for Public Defense, National District Attorneys Association and the International Association of Chief of Police may be ex-officio members of the Commission.



Click terms below to reveal definitions used in this rule.

Compact Commissioner or "Commissioner" - means the voting representative of each compacting state appointed under the terms of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision as adopted in the member state.